Select Language


The LAIS strategy is derived from the National Department of Basic Education’s National Strategy for Learner Attainment (NSLA) meant to assist provinces to implement changes which will lead to improved learner outcomes throughout the Basic Education System.

Key intervention areas identified by the LAIS have also been confirmed by the Annual National Assessment (ANA) results of both 2013 and 2014.

Five pillars have been developed as the cornerstone of departmental strategies to accomplish the task of assisting schools and these include:

The Five Pillars of LAIS

  • The Literacy and Numeracy Strategy
  • Grade 12 Learner Support
  • Dealing with the GET and FET underperforming schools.
  • Promoting and stabilizing the functionality of schools.
  • Making Special Schools Functional.

The rationale behind the five pillars is the monitoring, assessments and evaluations conducted to pinpoint these root problems and address them.

Additionally, the task of implementing the above strategy with its pillars is for sustained improvement of learner performance and the stabilization of the entire education system.  This strategy also clarified how positive outcomes can be accomplished with all education stakeholders working hand in glove.